Editorial Board

Table X (forthcoming) contains a list of editorial board members that have consented to serve in the proposed Transactions for a period of three years. It is the role of the editor-in-chief to distribute tasks to co-editors, and then for co-editors to distribute tasks to associate editors, who will then find adequate reviewers who have the technical qualifications and expertise to provide an assessment on the submitted manuscript. In this manner the structure of the editorial board is hierarchical. Furthermore, each manuscript will undergo three reviews before the editorial board makes a judgement on the manuscript.

The manuscript submission system known as Manuscript Central encapsulates the end-to-end workflow between the editor-in-chief, the co-editors, the associate editors, and the external reviewers. All actions of individuals in this workflow are auditable. For example, the system archives all correspondence between reviewers and associate editors as well as advice from co-editors to the editor-in-chief regarding acceptance, revision, or rejection of a manuscript. Manuscripts submitted to the Manuscript Central portal undergo some basic desk review to establish whether the manuscript meets requirements. If the manuscript is out of scope, poorly written, or does not adhere to the IEEE referencing schema, the administrator (i.e., one of the co-editors) will notify the author(s).

The editorial board provides expert advice on content, which is the reason for the identified thirty members. The breadth of technology and society issues spans across the five pillars of IEEE SSIT, consisting of sustainable development; ethics/human values; universal access; societal impacts; and protecting the planet. We have deliberately identified subject matter experts who are also able to attract new authors and encourage submissions via their immediate networks. Furthermore, we do not expect members of the editorial board to do paper reviews unless they wish to do so in cases where their own expertise may be a direct match.

Some of the members of the editorial board have had long careers as editors in major publication outlets both within and outside IEEE; others have been longtime reviewers or guest editors of major publications. The proposed Transactions on Technology and Society has attracted them to this endeavor, given their own interests and research areas. The founding editor-in-chief expects to create opportunities for those members on the editorial board who are early in their careers to have mentors selected from academics and practitioners who have had a long history of editing and publication experience. For example, six past presidents of IEEE SSIT are on the editorial board; they can provide deep experience and convey invaluable knowledge to others who are ready to undertake higher challenges as their career welcomes.

One can see diversity in discipline on the editorial board. This board also displays many vast experiences of collaboration with technical projects. For example, Professor Susan Dodds of the University of New South Wales is a philosopher who has been working closely with specialists in the field of nanotechnology, new materials, soft robotics, and exoskeletons for the past twenty years. Professor Eleni Kosta of Tilburg University has been looking at the interplay of technology and society for fifteen years and she has written full-length peer-reviewed papers with cyberneticists. Professor Kathleen Richardson who is an anthropologist has worked alongside roboticists on EU-wide grant schemes to do with autism and robotics support, and co-authored outputs in technical outlets like IEEE Robotics and Automation Magazine with mechanical and mechatronic engineers.

Geographically this editorial board covers the ten regions identified by IEEE. Additionally, there are four vacant associate editor roles to be determined from other societies that have entered or plan to enter into technical co-sponsorship agreements. One co-editor role remains unfilled. There is some expectation that most of these positions will come from representatives in IEEE Region 9.